Scaled-down T-28

Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum

Help Support Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum:

Matt G.

I guess it's finally time for me to start a thread for this thing. I thought I'd keep it more under wraps until this project became more well-defined, but after spending the better part of a day reading various threads on here to learn useful things, I now think it might be better to get input from those far more knowledgeable than me so I don't go too far down the wrong path. While I have two degrees in Aerospace Engineering and I currently work as a Stress engineer in the field, I've just begun my career, and I have a lot to learn. I've been slowly collecting design books covering a range of Aero and Mechanical Engineering topics to assist me with the process. Enough about me, more on the plane....

I've always liked warbirds and radial engines, but I know I won't likely ever be rich enough to own a P-51, F4U, or even a T-28. I also want a somewhat practical cross-country airplane. Wanting the ability to carry a second person eliminates quite a few potential candidates. For some reason, I've always liked the looks of the T-28 since I first saw one at an airshow when I was little. I could very well be the only one that feels this way, as I've never heard of anyone making a scaled-down T-28. My overall requirements are more or less as follows:

• Non-cramped accommodation for two tall people (I'm 6'3", and consequently don't fit well in quite a few planes)
  • Resemble T-28 in looks, and use the Rotec R3600 radial engine
  • Easy to fly and safe handling qualities
  • ~600ish statute mile range with VFR reserves
  • 150+mph TAS at cruise
  • Design for crashworthiness
  • Stall speed less than 60 mph in landing configuration
  • 2000' takeoff distance to clear a 50' obstacle at 5000' DA (might be a rather lofty goal)
  • aluminum semi-monocoque construction
  • ~50lb of baggage (not a clue where that's going to fit, at the moment)