Quantcast

Repairing Small Ding in Engine Mount

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

Direct C51

My carb heat box was rubbing on my engine mount and cut in to it a little bit. The engine mount is 4130 steel. After I sanded off the powder coating, it looks to be a couple thousands deep. I have no experience working with 4130 steel tube. How should I repair this?

IMG_4811.jpg

Dan Thomas

Looks more like at least ten thousandths deep, a serious defect. The tubing wall is only about .035" and a nick like that easily starts a crack.

I've often found the tubing worn under nylon ties that some guys use to restrain wiring or hoses to the mount. Abrasive dirt (sand, etc.) gets under the nylon tie and embeds itself in the plastic and starts grinding away at the tubing as everything vibrates. It makes for expensive repairs, with the engine and mount having to come off and the mount sent for repair. One should use only cushioned Adel clamps on a mount.

PTAirco

I would smooth out the gouge until it's virtually gone, then weld a patch over it extending about 1/2" past the area. If you leave it like that, the sharp edges could start a crack underneath the patch.

TFF

I had a crack once, about that big. It was an overkill fix of outside shell of 4130 in two halves welded. Ends of the crack was stop drilled then welded up first. The factory approved it.

I would probably would stop drill, weld up, and a finger patch over the area.

My opinion is the ends will need to be stop drilled, no matter what is welded over.

My non approved mind wonders if you can weld a tab along the long axis over the damage and consume the damage with the weld. I have seen way worse weld blowouts welded up flying for 50 years.

BBerson

Light Plane Philosopher
HBA Supporter
My non approved mind wonders if you can weld a tab along the long axis over the damage and consume the damage with the weld. I have seen way worse weld blowouts welded up flying for 50 years.