Reliable??? I've heard they are.

Discussion in 'Half VW' started by Jman, Dec 29, 2002.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Dec 29, 2002 #1

Jman

Jman

Jman

Site Developer

Does anyone have experience with the half VW engine? I have been considering building a Hummelbird which uses the half VW engine and I was hoping to hear some comments on their reliability and ease of building. From what I understand you need to actually saw the block in half and weld some counterbalances to the crank shaft. Any comments?? I've heard they have a good record, and I really really love that little hummelbird. Thanks in advance.

JakeC

2. Jan 27, 2003 #2

lou mc carrell

lou mc carrell

lou mc carrell

1/2 vw

jake,
    i have no direct experience, but did a lot of research for a legal eagle ultralight. what i discovered is it ain't worth cutting the case in half! basically remove the back two cylinders, cut the cam in half and have the crank redone. also, a friend of mine experienced trouble with the cam gears. i can get you the details later, but it was squeeking and it had to do with a new cam gear with a used crank gear.
    i have friends using them, i can ask around and see what they have to say.
    lou

3. Feb 2, 2003 #3

revpeach

revpeach

revpeach

I've built two half VW's. There are several ways they can be built. Some cut the case and other use the whole case and just plate off the extra jub and push rod holes. Both conversions require the crank and cam be cut. The crank is the most difficult because it must have counter weights welded on and then rebalanced. I ordered my cranks from Great Plains Aircraft. They did all the work and work fine. The only other difficult is making the heads. I built mine from scratch but half heads can be purchased already done.

Wayne Peach

4. Feb 2, 2003 #4

Jman

Jman

Jman

Site Developer