Phase One - Safety

Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum

Help Support Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum:

TXFlyGuy

This is purely hypothetical...

How many of you owners/pilots would knowingly fly your aircraft during phase one with a known failure of a major flight control system?

My background is Part 121 Airline, and that is a grounding item.

But in the experimental world...what say you?

radfordc

Yeah, I'll fly the thing no matter how bad it's built!

OK, that's a dumb answer....sort of like the question!

Really hypothetical, or do you have a story?

Topaz

Super Moderator
Staff member
Log Member
This is purely hypothetical...
Uh huh. And "asking for a friend," no doubt.

How many of you owners/pilots would knowingly fly your aircraft during phase one with a known failure of a major flight control system?
Only the ones who have a death wish. Duh.

You don't really need an answer to this question, do you? Either you're being hyperbolic about "major" flight control system, or deliberately obtuse. Either way, it smacks of trolling. Please clarify so that we're not playing twenty questions just to find out what's wrong with your airplane and why you're considering flying it with that issue.

TXFlyGuy

No, it's not a dumb question. And there is no story.

I am looking for serious answers, supported by logic.

Flight control system - Flaps Inoperative

Would you fly, or ground the plane for repairs? There is no legal reason (FAR) not to fly, if that makes you feel better.

To me, the flaps are a major system. Maybe they are minor to some pilots.

Topaz

Super Moderator
Staff member
Log Member
Inop how? Locked up? Locked down? Not working synchronously? What kind of airplane (level of performance)?

If there's no story here, why are you asking?

TXFlyGuy

Flaps inop, broken flap drive. Will not remain in the down position.

Do you fly? Do you ground the plane?

This is a forum for matters like this. That's why the question was asked.

BJC