Quantcast

P-51 Mustang Replica Tehnical Question

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

marianmadalin32

I am planning to build a P-51 Mustang 1:1 Replica. I will make it flyable. I have all the parts/pieces from the structure ready to cut and assemble. From what material and what thickness should I use for this structure to be strong (to support human weight) and also light in the same time ? Steel, aluminium ? And what thickness ? 1, 2 or 3 mm etc. ??? Thanks again.

rv7charlie

Hi, welcome to HBA.

I'm guessing that this is your 1st aircraft project. A word of warning; a full scale P-51 will be a *huge* undertaking. I'm also guessing that you aren't an aero or mechanical engineer. Another word of warning; I suspect that there aren't two people on this forum that would consider trying what you're describing, and that would include some very talented and experienced engineers. I know that I've been maintaining homebuilts since 1991, I have two talented mechanical engineers as friends/advisors, I'm about 95% done with another homebuilt, and I'd *never* tackle a task like a scratch-built P-51.

If you really want to build one, have you looked into a kit version?

Charlie

mcrae0104

HBA Supporter
Log Member
I am planning to build a P-51 Mustang 1:1 Replica. I will make it flyable. I have all the parts/pieces from the structure ready to cut and assemble. From what material and what thickness should I use for this structure to be strong (to support human weight) and also light in the same time ? Steel, aluminium ? And what thickness ? 1, 2 or 3 mm etc. ??? Thanks again.
At least 3mm steel throughout. You should never scrimp when your safety is at stake.

Dana

Super Moderator
Staff member
Steel, aluminium ? And what thickness ? 1, 2 or 3 mm etc. ??? Thanks again.
Yes. All of the above. And other materials and sizes as well, according to the stress analysis and other engineering requirements.

Sorry, there's no simple answer.

cvairwerks