Quantcast

Newbie...

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

MalcolmW

Hello, I’m a pilot working on an IFR rating and curious about the world of experimental aircraft. I’ve looked over some of the postings and may have some comments – hopefully helpful. As a child, I build several model aircraft and flew them until they crashed. I repaired them until they wouldn’t fly. It was fun!

I’ve had three careers (that dratted restructuring!), starting in research, then in banking and ended up running my own consulting business primarily as owner’s representative on construction projects. Along the way, I’ve had fun with fast cars, sailboats and lots of home repair. I guess I’m useful with my hands, which is one of the reasons experimental aircraft fascinate me.

However, I find that few experimental aircraft truly use leading edge technology, which puzzles me. I don’t understand why more usage is not made of contemporary aircraft design and construction practices. Yes, I understand why Lycoming and Continental engines rule the certified aircraft field, plus I understand the limitations of auto derived engines. Yet, there are other avenues – to me – that should have potential.

I fly Cessna aircraft (several types) and I know their design is dated. Even aircraft like the Cirrus does not embody contemporary aircraft technology. So, this is likely to be a learning experience for me. However, I’m willing to share whatever knowledge and technology I have that might prove useful to others in this field.

That's enough!

orion

There's really a simple answer to your inquiry and frustration (and that of many others too): $$$$$$$$