Quantcast

newbie question re prop overspeed with constant speed prop

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

pantdino

The governor on my Titan T-51 seems to be a definite weak point, probably because it shares oil with the gearbox and gets gummed up with metal dust.

Anyway, my tentative solution is to treat it like a ground adjustable prop and set the pitch at a midpoint pitch.
My question is whether my thinking is correct, that being IF I reinstall the governor, the fastest I should fly is the speed at which the prop will not overspeed if it suddenly reverts to fine pitch.

In that situation the governor will just be to allow lower rpm and thus less fuel consumption while it is working. When it fails I'll just have to slow down.

Does this make sense? I'm new to aviation so I'm likely missing something.

Thanks
Jim

Twodeaddogs

HBA Supporter
first thing to do is sort out the metal dust,ie, deal with the oil filtration. You might need to fit a magnetic chip detector. After that,set the maximum static RPM on the ground.

pantdino

Several people have tried to figure out a way to eliminate the metal dust, and it seems there is no way to.
There is no oil pump except at the base of the governor, so no way to have a proper filter

The fines causing the problem are the very fine dust. The screen was clean despite the governor piston being stuck.

I'm thinking determining the proper fixed pitch setting will involve some documentation of climb rate and max speed to determine the best compromise. The current suggestion is to set the minimum pitch to get 14-16" MAP at 1800-2000 engine rpm at full throttle, which is about 125hp. More power than that and the brakes can't hold the plane. Prop redline would be 4750 engine rpm, but the gearbox can only handle 300 hp, which occurs at 4000 rpm..

TFF