Newb from Las Vegas!

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

CaptainCoyote

Hello! I am a married father of 2 living the fiery hell of Las Vegas, NV. I'm an IT professional who is currently on COVID furlough looking at other employment options. Once I am financially stable again I very much want to get back to flying. Try as I might it is a love I could never shake.

I started flight training in 1991 in hopes of becoming an airline pilot. I got my PPL and was well on my way to commercial and instrument ratings when Clinton downsized the military by 8000 pilots. At this same time Delta laid off 10,000 and I got very discouraged. I changed my major to IT stuff, a decision I have regretted ever since, and told myself I would still fly for fun. That held true until I got married and my new wife thought it would be a better idea to spend money on houses, cars, and children rather than an hour of flying here and there.

Depending on how well my new career pays I have a few targets for what I would like to fly next:

-Ultimate (realistic-ish) goal would to build a Zenith CH701 with a Viking 90
-If that is not in the cards I may look at something like a Challenger II build or good used one
-If that is still too much I may look at building a Badland Aircraft ultralight (right around the corner from me). The cost of the aircraft would be similar to a used Challenger II, but storage would be so much cheaper with the folding wings that would let me take it home.
-As a minimal option something like a used Challenger U/L or other sub $10k craft would be my target

I am open to other suggestions but we'll see where life takes me.