New member - fledgling mini-max builder

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by flyt4tmn, Jul 20, 2018.

1. flyt4tmn

flyt4tmn New Member

Hi everyone, taking a bit of time to give a short introduction. I'm a fledgling builder who has recently been more active at finally building the tail feathers on a Mini Max 1650R Eros. Truth be told, like many folks I suppose, I did a bit of work on the v-stab and then work/life got in the way. But following a 6 months of studying for a large professional exam, I am back at it. I made enough headway to be 90% done with the v-stab and rudder and think I could finish it within a week. It is a relatively simple piece of the larger puzzle, I just simply doubted that I could do it.

I'm a middle-aged fella with grown kids (1 remains at the house) and my wife and I live a pretty simple life near San Antonio. In the late 1990s I got my Private Pilot SEL and IFR rating but following that only flew periodically and haven't flown in 10+ year at this point. I hope to get hooked into the local EAA Chapter and while I'm building in a spare space at the house I hope one day soon to have the problem deciding where to rent hanger space.

I looked at a number of homebuilts available over a period of months and tried to see as many as I could; The Teenie Two, Wittman Buttercup, Hummelbird, Volkplane and some more complicated and sexy looking aircraft but I opted for the Team Mini-Max Eros. Knowing my skillset, I opted for the relative simplicity of the Mini-Max given the its affordability, the flexibility of building it as either an ultralight or LSA, the hands-on nature of Team Mini-Max. It was easy to see the plane as bite sized pieces and it looked pretty neat as well.