Quantcast

Need to Make New 2-Stroke

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

StarJar

OK here goes.
I've been mulling over engines for a less-than-200 lb. ultralight, that has a 14-1 glide ratio.
To cut to the chase I want an engine that is less than 50 lbs, puts out at least 30 HP, is direct drive, has low fuel consumption, and doesn't have terrible vibration.
After wandering around this site, the internet, and YouTube, what my idea is is this;
A 2-stroke, with through-the-case induction, an exhaust valve at the top (head), and a cam that is also a balance
shaft.
I also though a longer/narrower bore would be a good feature, to give more torque.
I'm a Powerplant School graduate, and have experience as an engine machinist and engine builder (Type I VWs).
But if I do this I'll probably be learning new things like a kindergartner.
I wish I had experience in John Chotia's shop because I want to cast the case and heads (when everything is layed out).
Any thoughts, comments, or applicable references for a kindergartener would be useful. Thank you.

Aviator168

Don't understand the reason you want a new 2 stroke for this class of planes. There are existing 2 strokes that fit the bill except they are not direct drive.

TFF