Quantcast

My Own Design

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

Jim Williams

Hello to All,
Iam new to this list, but I am not a new homebuilder. I have built two Midget Mustangs and started a third. But like many aircraft homebuilders I would like to build my own design. Iam at the age now where I don't care to carry passengers. I what a single seat A/C. I don't care to go fast. Maybe an all metal low wing VW powered taildragger. It would have to have a big cockpit for my big butt. I know there are aircraft plans and kits out there that fill my needs, but are not my own design. The aircraft I am thinking about that is close to my needs is a all metal Colibri MB2. I know it is made of wood, but my close copy would be all metal.
Maybe a little back ground would help. I am a retired Aerospace engineer with 45 years in aircraft structures. I have worked for Grumman and Lockheed Martin. My last job was working on the F22 before retiring in 2000.
The help I need would be finding plans for the Colibri MB2 can anybody help.

Thanks
Jim Williams

CAB

Also...

You might try contacting the Hummelbird crowd somehow. I have heard of mods for larger-than-FAA-standard people (like me!).

CAB
Bearhawk#862

bill k

hey jim i agree with sakota the plane for you is the bk flier. its mine as soon as i can get plans and some money. 6'4" pilot, 250 lbs. 30 # baggage, 135 top end, 45 landing and build for 7000. can't beat it. bill k

keith103

Hi Jim,
Old thread this one, but I also would like to build my own design. Is it a do-able goal ?
By the way, you started off saying you wanna make your own design, but then you asked for plans.
I was thinking that if it is your own design, then you gotta make your own drawings based on your own design !

Any way, what is the latest on your design ?
I am just looking around to see if making one's own design is practical and (more important) will it be safe.
Thanks
Keith
Denver
Dec 2013

dcstrng