My Bearhawk stratch build project.

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

Pops

Log Member
Thought that I would post another Bearhawk project. Scratch built from plans. At this time everything is built except the wings. All the parts for the wings are made. Just need to start assembling. This project has been going slow because since I started on it, I built the single single seat Super Cub that I am flying and have my JMR Special at the same stage as the Bearhawk. Also at this time I am majoring the C-85 engine for the JMR. Plan on starting on the Bearhawk wings in a couple months.
I am trying to beat the empty weight of the prototype Bearhawk. Will have a Lyc-360 engine, fixed pitch prop, no electrical system. I do have seats that fold down to make a bed. Dan

Attachments

Pops

Log Member
Pictures of Fuselage jig. The big red thing, is the engine mount jig that bolts to the front of the fuselage jig. Also the jig for lining up the axles and jig for making the landing gear. Dan

Attachments

Pops

Log Member
Pictures when we were bending the Bearhawks spar webs for the wings with the 8' brake that Dallas and I built. I took the pictures. All 3 of us are building Bearhawks and also my neighbor across the runway. Dan

Attachments

Pops

Log Member
Put the .025 2024-T3 aluminum rear baggage bulkhead cover on today. Latter I will be making a small inspection door for inspecting the control cables,etc. Could made a box for storage behind the panel, but it'll just add weight and trying to get the empty weight lower than the Prototype, if that is possible . Starting to make cardboard patterns for the aluminum floor. Floor will be .032 2024-T3 by Bob Barrows Bearhawk plans.
Dan

Attachments

Pops

Log Member