Mobile on W10 desktop after what looked like an outage?

Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum

Help Support Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum:

Jay Kempf

Curmudgeon in Training (CIT)
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Apr 13, 2009
Messages
4,381
Location
Warren, VT USA
Did the site go down for a while and come back up? I had a redirect to some Amtrak scam site. Then when the site came back it looks like the mobile version. Is there software updates going on?

And no latest post button?
 

Hot Wings

Grumpy Cynic
HBA Supporter
Log Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2009
Messages
8,042
Location
Rocky Mountains
I got a security warning due to a certificate problem. Certificate belonged(s) to the amtrak site. Don't know what the mobile version looks like but this sure isn't the way it was.
 

Admin

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 6, 2002
Messages
443
The software updated from Xenforo 1.5 to 2.1. The controls are very much the same with a few enhancements.
Take a few minutes and look around, try things out.
The ability to turn off ads is under Preferences on the User Control Panel.
Get to the User Control Panel via your member name at the top right corner of the page.
 

Jay Kempf

Curmudgeon in Training (CIT)
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Apr 13, 2009
Messages
4,381
Location
Warren, VT USA
Looks like this now, giant text and lots of white like mobile interface. Also it has the AU Amtrak Unlimited icon in the tab in Chrome and a (2) in front of the topic name like it thinks I have 2 windows open or something. Some dial needs a bit of tuning :)1583965719781.png
1583965719781.png
 

Hot Wings

Grumpy Cynic
HBA Supporter
Log Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2009
Messages
8,042
Location
Rocky Mountains
No favicon on a Firefox tab.

Don't like the large print and all the wasted space, but I can learn to read it.
 

Admin

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 6, 2002
Messages
443
What large print? I'm seeing regular sized print.
 

Hot Wings

Grumpy Cynic
HBA Supporter
Log Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2009
Messages
8,042
Location
Rocky Mountains
What large print? I'm seeing regular sized print.
I see only 6 topics under "newposts" now. with the old software i could see about double that number. Made the scanning of what I want to read MUCH faster. Less scrolling.

It all looks like I poked "ctrl/+++"

Firefox and Win 8.1
 

Admin

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 6, 2002
Messages
443
The AU reference seems to be gone now.
And I've asked for the developer to make 10 or 12 New Posts on the right.
 

Jay Kempf

Curmudgeon in Training (CIT)
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Apr 13, 2009
Messages
4,381
Location
Warren, VT USA
Wastes a ton of screen with mostly white back ground. Scrolls the content way down off the screen. Used to be you just hit a little triangle in the header to take you to the next unread content. That was working. Gone now?
 
Top