Lyc o540

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

D

diego3v

hallo,
I'm not good at all with engines so a need your help before asking to a maintenance center...

I have a Lyc o540 B2C5 engine. 235Hp. I would use this engine for experimental airplane. What changes a maintenance center can make to get the most of the hp?
Apart from the cost, it would be useful to install an injection instead of the carburetor?

thankyou for yor help

Twodeaddogs

HBA Supporter
First, inspect the engine to make sure that it is in flyable condition then consider what aircraft it will go into. Is it going into an aerobatic aircraft or a cruising aircraft? You should check the maintenance manual to see if that exact sub model can accept fuel injection. Some can't. Also, you have to consider what propellor might be used, as some crankshafts cannot handle a constant-speed propellor. Also, depending on what aircraft it might go in to, see what kind of engine mount it may use.

regards
TDD

TFF

It is all about money. You can make it into a 350 hp engine if you throw every trick in the book at it. Fuel injection is the same. Most of the time you have to change the sump to a FI one, but it is really just buying the right parts. Nothing fancy other than to do. What kind of engine do you need. Also as the compression goes up the life of the engine goes down.

Dan Thomas

There are numerous O- and IO-540s. The number of cubic inches are the same but there are many differences. Can't just make changes that easily.

Generally, though, the 540 gets more HP at higher RPM. 235 at 2400, around 260 at 2700. They get 300 out of a 540 by turbocharging it, but there will be internal differences in the engine to make it stronger.

Lots of info on the TCDS: TCDS E-295 Rev 19 Lycoming Engines

Toobuilder

Log Member