Label that Cable

Discussion in 'Workshop Tips and Secrets / Tools' started by Rick Galati, Mar 25, 2003.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

  1. Mar 25, 2003 #1

    Rick Galati

    Rick Galati

    Rick Galati

    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO.
    Too many years of building combat aircraft for the taxpayers has provided me with many valuable lessons that are quite useful in constructing my RV-6A. One of the things you would observe if you could peer inside the airframe of an F-15 or F-18 is that countless labels are affixed next to the components they describe. With that in mind, I got a pack of AVERY 8667 (clear) labels from the local Office Max and proceeded to put Microsoft Word and my printer to good use. Now, five or ten years from now, when I have completely forgotten what I installed and exactly where I put it (when flat on my back and scrunched up under the instrument subpanel) the components will be instantly identified such as the FLAP RELAY DECK, AMP TRANSDUCER, LIGHT DIMMER BUSS, ROLL TRIM RELAY, PITCH TRIM SPEED GOVERNOR, not to mention each of the 17 wires that make up an Infinity Joystick Grip cable. You get the idea. Just make sure the surface is clean and apply the label in your choice of font and color.
    Rick Galati
     
  2. Mar 26, 2003 #2

    John Slade

    John Slade

    John Slade

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    West Palm Beach, FL
    I'm not labeling the gizmos. I think I'll remember what they are, and if I dont the wire labels will tell me. Every wire has a label inside the clear shrink wrap on the end. I have a Word document with all my wire identifiers in 6 point font. Whenever I need some labels I add the names to this document and print, cut the labels out with scissors and insert into the shrink wrap. Neat and durable.

    Full credit for the technique goes to Bob Nuckolls of aeroelectric.com Wiring an airplane without his book and daily internet advise would have been very difficult for like me who doesnt have the proper training.

    Hoping all the smoke stays in the wires.
     
  3. Apr 2, 2003 #3

    wassbiplane

    wassbiplane

    wassbiplane

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Dear John, (I,sent your saddle home)

    What wiring identifier code did you use ?
    I had an old A/C wiring handbook that gave a pro-
    posed code back in 1940.

    It gave a two letter prefix and then you used numbers after that.--It starts with A--Armament

    It seemed rather archaic, but then another fellow sent me what appeared to be a slightly updated
    version of same...Let's compare,

    BTW my Word only goes down to 8pt type---where
    did you get 6pt?

    Jerry---p.s.I'll attach my list if I can find it.

    Well, I found it,but it's in Word & I can't work my zipper.-----If you want, I'll print it,scanit,
    and jpeg it.
     
  4. Apr 2, 2003 #4

    John Slade

    John Slade

    John Slade

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    West Palm Beach, FL
    >I,sent your saddle home
    ???You lost me here

    >What wiring identifier code did you use ?
    I made it up as I went along. Basically L, R or C for left, right or center and a 3 digit identifier, then a meaningful name including where the wire was going.

    My word only goes down to 8 also, but you can still type in 6. I used New Times Roman, 6 point. Worked fine. The forum won't allow word doc attachments :( so here's a small sample...

    R 201 – Rt Fuel Pump Pwr
    R 202 – Rt Fuel Pump Grnd
    R 203 – Rt Fuel Pump Switch
    C 201 – Return Solenoid Pwr
    C 202 – Return Solenoid Grnd
    C 203 – Return Solenoid Switch
    L 201 – Lt Fuel Pump Pwr
    L 202 – Lt Fuel Pump Grnd
    L 203 – Lt Fuel Pump Switch
     
  5. Apr 2, 2003 #5

    Jman

    Jman

    Jman

    Site Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA!
    Ok John, you shamed me into allowing Word Documents to be attached to posts :rolleyes: . Upload away! :)

    Jake
     
  6. Apr 2, 2003 #6

    wassbiplane

    wassbiplane

    wassbiplane

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Dear John--Lucky for you, you apparently never received a "Dear John" letter from an ex-girlfriend, telling you good bye..
    The phrase was the first line in an old country/western song of about the 1940's.

    Anyhow this is the standardized wiring code, as late as I have found it. The fellow who sent it to me said that Piper followed it fairly closely,but some of the other mfgrs didn't..

    Anyhow, thanks to the benevolent actions of Jake , here's the list--in MS Word.

    This is my first time in this NG, I like all the
    options of the system. what few I've used.

    Jerry
     
  7. Apr 3, 2003 #7

    wassbiplane

    wassbiplane

    wassbiplane

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cable label

    just trying to post doc---for practice/real.

    Jerry


    well, I found the sweet spot on the Attach File box, but nuttin happens after Iopen my file.

    I'll go ahead and post this to see if it tags Along
     
  8. Apr 3, 2003 #8

    Jman

    Jman

    Jman

    Site Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA!
    Not sure what is going on. It has worked for me. Does anyone have a problem doing this? There is a forum just for testing posts at the bottom of the main page. Could someone else post a word doc there and give it a try? Thanks.

    Jake
     
  9. Mar 4, 2004 #9

    mplafleur

    mplafleur

    mplafleur

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    I don't see any document attached...:wail:
     
  10. Mar 5, 2004 #10

    wassbiplane

    wassbiplane

    wassbiplane

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Label dat dere cable !!

    OK, I finally found the Word doc that has the wiring code in it..

    I will attempt to post ( it )

    This is merely a generalized system--- a letter or pair of letters,
    is used to identify the general item (s) to where the wire is going.
    Then a numerical sequence is used to identify each specific wire.

    The system was originated just before WW-II , and was amended
    afterwards (this list) and may have been amended later.

    If anyone knows of improvements, please notify me.

    Jerry Wass
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Mar 5, 2004 #11

    robert.lees

    robert.lees

    robert.lees

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leicester, UK (EGBG)
  12. Mar 5, 2004 #12

    mplafleur

    mplafleur

    mplafleur

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    Thanks for the attachment!:gig:
     
  13. Mar 6, 2004 #13

    NEMuzzy

    NEMuzzy

    NEMuzzy

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    Another technique

    I used one of the Brother P-touch label makers. They sometimes have affordable ones at the office stores, around $30 or so. I would print the function of the wire, twice, and then stick it around the wire like a flag.

    I did not label the wires where it was obvious what they were hooked into, for example the data wires between the encoder and the transponder.

    The clear heatshrink also sounds like a great idea.

    Regards-
    Norm
     
  14. Mar 6, 2004 #14

    Joe Spirit Walker

    Joe Spirit Walker

    Joe Spirit Walker

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Taos, NM
    Wiring Code

    So, It is my understanding that the Wiring code attached by 'WASS BI Plane" is a kind of "UNIVERSAL CODE"...........Is this correct?

    I like the idea of using something Universal.........I too would like any information about whether or not this "CODE" has been updated Recently.

    :cool: Joe :cool:
     
  15. Mar 7, 2004 #15

    Joe Spirit Walker

    Joe Spirit Walker

    Joe Spirit Walker

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Taos, NM
    Wire Markers

    Don't know what people are using for Marking wires, but here is what BRADY makes. See link below:

    http://catalog.bradyserve.com/cgi-bin/ncommerce3/ExecMacro/BradyISD/Main.d2w/report

    I prefer the "Vinyl Self Laminating " Markers. You write or print on part of it, and then a clear part rolls around the markings.

    To purchase them, you can find starting on page 606 in the Grainger Catalog or go to the below link.

    http://www.grainger.com

    And Enter Keyword "Brady"

    and then Sort by "page Number".

    If I were picking one to look at it would be :( see Below)
    http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/productdetail.jsp?xi=xi&ItemId=1611607477&ccitem=
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2004
  16. Mar 8, 2004 #16

    mplafleur

    mplafleur

    mplafleur

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    Hmmm, I used the Brady thermal wire label machine here at work. It has the .5 in wide, .75in high, .375in writing area label. I didn't see that one in the catalog. It's a nice machine and I know I will be using it again in the future,
     

Share This Page

arrow_white