IvoProp inflight adjustable question...

Discussion in 'Firewall Forward / Props / Fuel system' started by MadProfessor8138, Aug 19, 2019.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Aug 19, 2019 #1

MadProfessor8138

MadProfessor8138

MadProfessor8138

I've flown fixed pitch,ground adjustable and a few constant speed props but I've never flown an inflight adjustable prop.
    I understand the theory for the most part on a 4-stroke.....set your rpm and adjust the manifold pressure.
    Thought I would ask how the prop is operated with a 2-stroke engine.....2-strokes can be peaky at particular rpm's etc...
    Do you set the engine to full throttle or 3/4 throttle and then use the prop to govern the engine speed by increasing or decreasing the prop load.

I don't mean to sound totally ignorant on the issue but this is one area that I have no practical experience with....

Kevin

Last edited: Aug 20, 2019
  2. Aug 20, 2019 #2

TFF

TFF

TFF

Sounds like a cat fight. I think setting to 85-90 percent and start jockeying with prop and power until you find a pattern you like. Then you can go to it. Then you can go full power and see how much pitch it can take.

3. Aug 20, 2019 #3

Hephaestus

Hephaestus

Hephaestus

4. Aug 20, 2019 #4

MadProfessor8138

MadProfessor8138

MadProfessor8138

Yeah...I saw the constant speed add-on that they offer.
    I've also read that they've had some issues with it....how true this is I dont know.

At this point,I'm just researching props and trying to learn as much as possible.
    I've plugged numbers into the prop calculator and can acheive a better than 1:1 ratio but cruise drops dramatically with a fixed pitch prop.
    The inflight adjustable or constant speed would give me great climb and cruise...best of both worlds.
    Once I get my Stork finished I would like to take it to OshKosh and enter the STOL competitions that they have.