Quantcast

Is this aluminum OK to use???

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

photodoctor

I'm starting construction on a scratch-built metal airplane. I have some sheets of 2024 T3 which has been sitting in my garage for years and I'm not sure whether I should use the stuff (refer to attached photo). It never got wet and the metal doesn't seem to be pitted. I haven't tried scotch-briting it with lacquer yet but the little bit of rubbing I did with a piece of steel wool seemed to shine it up. I'm new to metal work so any help will be appreciated.

Also, these sheets are labeled, "Bare Alcoa", this means that they'll NOT Alclad sheets, correct? My plans call for Alclad metal for building the wing ribs. Can I use this stuff and simply treat it with corrosion protection?

Attachments

djschwartz

Never, ever use steel wool on aluminum. Minute particles of steel will break off from the wool fibers and embed themselves in the pores of the aluminum. These will become future starting sites for inter granular corrosion.

If your plans call for Alclad, I would use it. 2024 is stiff and strong but has about the poorest corrosion resistance of the commonly used aluminum alloys.

photodoctor

Thanks for the reply. Another guy emailed me and said this: 'Acid etch, alodine, and prime and you're good to go for your homebuilt. Alclad doesn't add a lot as long as you're properly coating the surface'. Does anyone have any additional thoughts for me before I start looking into "Acid etching, alodine and prime"?

jumpinjan

Well, its really cleaning with a metal conditioner rinse with water, then alodine, rinse, then epoxy prime. That would be a good system to use on aluminum.
Jan

Dan Thomas