I bought plans to a ULF-1 and want to build it. Yeah, I said it.

Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum

Help Support Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum:

clonesix

Hello all,
I am new to this forum, and wanted to make an introduction for me and my proposed project. I have built many balsa flying models over the years, and wanted to take on a nice project in retirement. I was able to find a set of plans to an ultralight sailplane, ULF-1. When I look at the plans, and read the instructions, I realize that there are many terms that I need explained to me, or the drawings don't make the sense that I would like, and I will need some explanations. I will ask later.

I am a complete newb, and will have to set up the garage for this and build several jigs and such. I haven't even begun, but I thought I would post it here as my introduction. As I get more progress, I will likely ask several building questions here.

Funny thing is, I am not even a pilot yet. I had plans to start pilot training in 2021, but this COVID thing has kept me at home for the time being.

Brünner

HBA Supporter
Welcome to this great forum, I'm sure lots of ppl will be able to help you with the construction.
Glad to have you here.

D_limiter

Lifetime Supporter
Welcome! Great way to embrace your dreams and move them forward even in this bizarre year. Lot’s of help to be had on this forum.

GeeZee

HBA Supporter
There was a group in North Carolina that was building a modified ULF-1 using foam ribs, etc. I believe their goal was electric self launch. Never heard about it flying or any progress reports.

Topaz

Super Moderator
Staff member
Log Member
Hello all,
I am new to this forum, and wanted to make an introduction for me and my proposed project...
Welcome! You've got a bazillion little wooden parts in your future (the ULF-1 is just that way), but your modeling experience should serve you well there.

Looking forward to seeing your build!

clonesix