Quantcast

Howdy! Beginning a Bobcat restoration

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

sethhope

Howdy all!

My name is Jesse, but I go by Seth as it's my middle name. I'm a car mechanic turned truck driver and I'm always looking for another project to fill my time off.

I've been thinking about building my own aircraft for several years, and I finally decided to take the plunge. I found a mostly complete, well built bobcat with blueprints (not full plans, but full blueprint plates). I plan on restoring the work that was done on it, and finishing the aircraft.

As far as I have been able to deduce, the original builder was an engineer. He made a few minor changes to the airframe to increase rigidity across the fuselage and wings without a significant weight increase. He did not follow the supercat modifications exactly, but his changes are well documented and his math checks out.

My issue is that I don't have a construction manual for the aircraft, and that contains some useful information that I would significantly benefit from. Is there anywhere that the build manual has been uploaded, or someone here that could point me in the direction of a construction manual? I searched and found a few threads talking about the build manual here, but not much in the way of resources.

Any help would be appreciated!

pwood66889

Dang, Seth. Just don't have a build manual.
Do have advertisements and a letter from Bob Baker dated 1988.
Did indeed enjoy the look of that guy! Could just imagine it in US Navy colors, WWII style.
Visited one once, but as a traveling consultant, I could not have an airplane. Someone has to drive the U-Haul to the next gig! Long story... :-(
Wouldn't mind looking at what you got if you were close to NW FL.
I hope you're able to scare up something on HomeBuiltAirplanes.com and welcome aboard!

sethhope

Dang, Seth. Just don't have a build manual.