Quantcast

How you gonna find astronauts that don't mind a little radiation?

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

BJC

HBA Supporter
How long do you expect the first group of astronauts who launch for Mars to survive?

BJC

edit. That is a serious question.

Aerowerx

Oh, come on now!

Did you read the article carefully? How does that compare with the general population of 60-80 year old US males?

There were only 3 that died of cardiac problems.

Besides, when can anything a news media says be believed, particularly when it comes to science?

StarJar

Maybe once you are 'on' a planet you are safe. . Aerowerks pointed out the smallness of the effects, but the one with cancer could have been a result too. Also, radiation weakens your whole health, not just your heart.

Glider

How long do you expect the first group of astronauts who launch for Mars to survive?
I'm not a doctor...

Mars has no magnetic field, is dead, has no air, and is boring as heck (no plants, animals, or inhabitants).

If the radiation didn't kill an immigrant, I'd imagine that suicide would be the second leading cause of death.

Using the longest someone has lived continuously in a submarine (one that doesn't do a lot of moving around), multiplying by 4, and I'd guess that is the 100% morbidity age.

If a population of >10,000 could be sustained, there might be hope of a society that can live on indefinitely.

But there is still the problems of: no magnetic field to shield from radiation, planet is dead, and has no air. Some argue that a magnetic field is required to prevent the air from being blown away from the planet.

Last edited:

Vigilant1

Lifetime Supporter
The sample size is too small to offer any statistically significant results unless the health impact is truly overwhelming (e.g. if 75% the astronauts died of a malady that strikes only 2% of normal folks).

StarJar

Maybe they should measure the radiation. Well I'm sure they have.