How many of you guys fly RC Planes too?

Discussion in 'Hangar Flying' started by Pietenpolflyer, Jan 23, 2004.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Jan 23, 2004 #1

Pietenpolflyer

Pietenpolflyer

Pietenpolflyer

Hey guys, title says it all. I'm not a homebuilder yet... mostly just doing research, but I"m an avid RC Airplane and Heli pilot.

I've been flying planes for about 9 years now. I started flying glow planes, then switched to electric before they really started getting popular, now I'm switching back to glow for some planes.

Here's a picture of my latest project. A Sceadu Evo .50 (a .50 is half a cubic inch displacement)

--Paul

Attached Files:

2. Jan 23, 2004 #2

StRaNgEdAyS

StRaNgEdAyS

StRaNgEdAyS

Yep :D
    I started out when I was 9 flying control liners, and graduated to planes, gliders, helicopters, cars and boats.
    The planes were always my favorite, and I was always looking for something bigger and faster, so I started building my own models.
    I guess that's what brought me here, I just had to Build myself a really big one. :gig:

3. Jan 23, 2004 #3

orion

orion

orion

Me too. I got into flying RC in my late teens and kept with it for quite a few years. I did a bit of pylon racing and eventually I got into instructing new pilots. However most of the stuff I flew was for fun.

I used the RC models to test several ideas I had at the time and so, pretty much had stopped building kits and for the most part built my own. I think that's about the time I started to discover how inadequate RC models are at predicting full scale airplane behavior.

Being into full scale planes now, I just don't seem to have the time any more to get back to RC. A couple of years ago my wife gave me a beautiful large scale P-51 kit for Christmas. Having had a couple in the past, I know that the P-51 is one of the squirreliest airplanes out there so I decided to get a trainer first to get my thumbs back in shape.