How do I know?

Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum

Help Support Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum:

n6233u

HBA Supporter
I have been flying my Hatz for a few years now, purchased it as-is and have upgraded/repaired a few things. How do I know what it was originally approved with - electrical, starter, generator, etc.???

The logs are terse and barely covers many of the details of the aircraft. Where can I find out what was on the aircraft when it was given the Airworthiness certificate?

Wanttaja

The only thing you might do is contact the original builder, if he/she is still around. I don't believe the FAA keeps any formal record. The DAR who signed off the airplane would be the only source, and I suspect they don't keep records that detailed.

It wounds like you're basically in the same position I was... "Since there's no proof my Fly Baby had an electrical system at the time it was originally certified, I shouldn't need to install a Transponder/ADS-B since the airplane 'has not been subsequently re-certified' with an electrical system."

I had been tempted to just remove the generator, add a cover plate to the engine, and make that claim. Unfortunately, I had laid a considerable online trail discussing various problems with the generator, the owner before me had installed a transponder, and the plane still has (most of) the nav lights the original builder installed. Would have had a hard time convincing the federales that my plane DIDN'T have an electrical system all along.

You don't have all the baggage that I do, so you might consider just pulling the generator off. My generator is inop (again!) and I'm just recharging the battery after every flight. Fresno Airparts sells a plate to close off the hole.