How about a Mini Max but with a Highlander Landing Gear?

Discussion in 'Aircraft Design / Aerodynamics / New Technology' started by Timstertimster, Aug 1, 2014.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Aug 1, 2014 #1

Timstertimster

Timstertimster

Timstertimster

I'm pondering... The mini max 1100R Mini-Max - Team Mini-Max, the worlds best ultralight and light plane kits and plans.

Is nice and looks quick to build.

But I love the landing gear on the Highlander superSTOL, that allows for those smack-it-down landings with ridiculously steep approach.

Could this be combined? I'm not very experienced and at this moment it's a theoretical exercise for me, but I'd love to hear from the grand poobah's here if this makes sense.

Id worry a bit about stability if landing rough, since it's a glued wood frame. Would I risk crawling out of a plywood rubble pile after landing 25 times on a grass patch with mole hills?

Can a mini max sport 29" tundra tires? Or would that mess with the stability during flight?

Thanks for indulging me.

FritzW likes this.
  2. Aug 1, 2014 #2

TFF

TFF

TFF

I dont think the Mini Max is strong enough. Anything can be done but it cant be scabbed on, and by the time you figure it out, you have just designed another airplane. A Mini Max will almost perform that short as is, in normal flight without the drama. It would not fly as nice with those big wheels.

dcstrng and StarJar like this.
  3. Aug 1, 2014 #3

bifft

bifft

bifft

Looking at the pictures in your link, the wing struts attach to the landing gear axle. This means the gear position is fixed and the only shock absorption is in the tires. I believe the Flybaby is also like that.

So, for superSTOL style gear, it would need to not be attached to the wing strut structure (as it moves a lot absorbing that smack it down landing). You would then need that wing strut in place as well, or to completely redesign the wing as a cantilever. Either way not a simple change.