Hello, My Name I Mark Thompson I am 62 and going to A& P school at Spartan in Tulsa OKLA. campus.

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

Mark Thompson

oh.. I am suppose to type message here. I was an UH-1H crew-chief and mechanic for over 10 years in the ARMY. I completed 2 years of machine tool degree at North central tech collage wausau wi. after I left the Army . but for the last 29 years I have been commercial truck driver. I miss aviation so I am getting back in. I have been wanting to build my own plane for most of my life. was subscribed to The Saure P-6E news letter while it was in design stage. Now I have chosen to Build the Curtiss 0-1B/A3.

don january

Log Member
Welcome Mark T. to the HBA Forum. Very challenging build for first plane but sounds like your in the right business to get it done.

BJC

HBA Supporter
Welcome. You have chosen a big project. What are your plans for firewall forward?

BJC

TFF

Will you build a scaled version or exact copy. Either way that’s a big elephant to eat. Good luck and have fun.

crusty old aviator

Hoo-boy, that’s a lot of wing ribs! At least the Falcon has constant cord wings, so you won’t have 400+ hours into rib jig building like you would building a P-6E Hawk replica...what are you using for technical sources to base your replica on?

N804RV

HBA Supporter
Dang Mark! We have very similar history. I was a UH-1N crew chief in Navy search & rescue. The FAA would not give me a waiver for the A&P exams because, even though I had over 16 years experience in helicopter maintenance (including all systems QAR and "Safe-for-Flight" signature authorization), they said because I went to avionics "A" school when I got out of bootcamp it didn't count. Its funny, because I changed as many engines as I did radios during my career.