Hello from Huntsville, AL!

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

Bradsopex

Hello everyone!

I grew up in general aviation thanks to my dad, mostly in 172/182s and then a Diamond DA-20 for a short bit.

I'm an engineer, and currently I build race cars and have found myself drawn more and more towards building something fun to fly, and this forum has a good wealth of knowledge. I look forward to learning some things and meeting some cool people!

Victor Bravo

Welcome! Building and flying are two hobbies that are related but separate. Both are a lot of fun, educational, and great personal achievements.

The basic questions this group almost always asks a newcomer are...

1) what type of lying do you want to do with the airplane you build?
2) What type of materials are you interested or comfortable working with?

these answers will allow us, as a group, to offer the most relevant and useful advice (if you are seeking advice or suggestions).

Bradsopex

1) I want the aircraft I build to do back country/bush flying.
2) I'm comfortable with almost any material. I weld, do light machining, do my own composite parts (fiberglass, carbon fiber, carbon Kevlar, etc) and I even have a sewing machine, lol.

Pops

Log Member
Welcome. Great bunch of airplane nuts here.
My daughter used to live in Huntsville, I used to fly into MDQ very often. Remember the huge potholes in the taxi way the first time there. I said something about it to the lineboy while topping off my airplane, he said " that's not a taxi way, that is the road coming in here ". :)

Victor Bravo

2) I'm comfortable with almost any material. I weld, do light machining, do my own composite parts (fiberglass, carbon fiber, carbon Kevlar, etc) and I even have a sewing machine, lol.
Fantastic, there are several really good designs that are back-country oriented.

Bradsopex