Hello from an aspiring pilot and experienced DIYer

Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum

Help Support Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum:

FishHawk

Hello everyone. I joined this forum to entertain myself and instead I found my next big project.
I am a software developer, with a side business of knifemaking.
I've always loved DIY projects, from as small as building IKEA kits, to building a buggy from scratch with a transplanted fiat 128 engine.
Recently I've found myself without a hobby, and I contemplated building a custom motorcycle on Honda CB platform, but after the full buggy build while keeping the cost under 600 eur, it's rather mundane.
An aircraft is a challenging project where I hope to be able to fuse all of my past experiences.
I will need strong support and info, and you seem like the right guys to ask.

I'm looking to build a two seat airplane strictly from plans like Jodel D11 or something very similar. Yesterday an opportunity popped up, but I wanted to ask first and not act on impulse. I can get a fully functional VW 1.3 boxer engine for 100 euros. Should I get it, and does it have enough power? Or is it better to buy a used aircraft engine and not have headaches with conversions? The budget is a very big consideration.

pwood66889

Guess I'm #1 in the welcoming Party! Did software myself for 20 years, then became an aircraft mechanic.
May one presume you are European? Not wishing to offend, but location is available in your profile that will appear with your posts.
A 1300 CC (which the VW's were called sold in the USA) that runs may be good indeed for the Jodel or a Turbulant. Single seat is it's limitation, because it does not shed heat all that well.
This forum offers excellent advice; "Worth it's weight in gold," as it were. But please look around your area for someone who may be doing similar things.
Wish you luck, welcome aboard, and I am looking forward to your PIREP!

Vigilant1

Lifetime Supporter