Hello, Everyone

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by 0x4447, Nov 16, 2018.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Nov 16, 2018 #1

0x4447

0x4447

0x4447

Just wanted to introduce myself, I am a college student in the DFW area fascinated with aviation and aerospace, I am currently pursuing a electrical engineering degree and am hoping to design and build an electric ultralight

Boston425 likes this.
  2. Nov 16, 2018 #2

bmcj

bmcj

bmcj

Well-Known Member HBA Supporter

Welcome to HBA.

3. Nov 16, 2018 #3

narfi

narfi

narfi

Hello and welcome.
    Have you watched the youtube guy who built a foam electric biplane quite rapidly for his channel?

4. Nov 16, 2018 #4

lr27

lr27

lr27

Welcome!

I met a student from, I think, WPI, who had built his own electric "trike", except that it had 4 wheels instead of 3 and had driven wheels in addition to the props. 4 motors, all very small but with impressive amounts of power. Probably the props were too small.
    electric paramotor shrunk.jpg

Not a terribly efficient aircraft, of course.

5. Nov 17, 2018 #5

0x4447

0x4447

0x4447

Yes, Peter's videos are part of what got me interested in designing my own ultralight

narfi likes this.
  6. Nov 17, 2018 #6

0x4447

0x4447

0x4447

That looks pretty cool, not sure if I'm going to make the wheels driven though, my design is currently a mix of the affordaplane, airbike, and the zenith style aluminum extrusion/sheet construction, I think I've got most of the electric powertrain figured out, mainly working out all of the structural/mechanical parts right now

7. Nov 17, 2018 #7

pwood66889

pwood66889

pwood66889

Wish you well. I believe electric planes will be particularly good for training over the near haul, given fuel availability, etc.
    Have my own "Work in Process" east of DFW = Terrell.
    Percy in NW FL, USA

8. Nov 17, 2018 #8

Victor Bravo

Victor Bravo

Victor Bravo