Quantcast

Green zinc chromate primer as final finish

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

Peer Ebbighausen

Log Member
As the subject line says, I'd like to leave the green primer exposed in some areas on my badland ultralight build, if for no other reason than I like the look of it.

It wouldn't be heavily exposed - I'm thinking the engine mount and a few engine brackets. Is there any harm in doing so, or does this have a very short "shelf life" if not sealed with a topcoat?

Turd Ferguson

If you paint steel, it will eventually rust. Zinc chromate is also toxic and carcinogenic. Lots of restrictions on it's use these days and the alternative is zinc phosphate, which is of dubious equality.

My favorite primer is the old stits EP-420 but not sure what the availability is for that anymore.

Kyle Boatright

HBA Supporter
I'm no doctor or toxicologist, but Zinc Chromate use does have its risks.

That said, with proper precautions (spray it outside, stand upwind, wear a mask, wear long sleeves) and the small quantities you're talking about, I'd use it. In fact, I do use it in small quantities.

Knowing what I know, I wouldn't be comfortable doing it the way the factories did in the 40's with an open thousand gallon vat of the stuff and a worker using a garden hose to spray it on a fuselage weldment, or another worker dipping hundreds of parts into it all day long.

Everything has some element of risk. The only question is your threshold for acceptance.

N804RV

I painted the interior of my RV-8 with SEM gray primer. Used a light tack coat followed by 2 wet coats of SEM. Then, I covered it with 2 light coats of Eastwood 2k matte clear. All rattle can. People keep telling me I'll have trouble with it. But, I have a test piece that's been tossed around the shop and hung outside in the rain for a couple of years. And, it still looks pretty good.

wsimpso1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Log Member