Global engine (Half VW)

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

Bipenut

Hello all,
I purchased a Preceptor N-3 Pup, the airframe is in great shape although it hasn't flown in about 6 years. It has a global half VW engine that the previous owner has torn apart and never got back to putting it back together so I purchased the project as airframe with a box of engine. I have built a few full VW engines and I am a GM trained mechanic so I have confidence that I will have no problem putting this engine back together but I have a couple of questions:

1) I have looked over the engine block, cylinders and heads for any hint of whether it is a 30hp or 40hp engine and I cant find any tags or markings on the engine anywhere, how can I tell which engine I have? Measure the bore of the cylinders? Or is there an easier way?

2) Where can I buy parts for this engine? I want to replace the bearings, rings and get gaskets for it.

Thank you for your time!!

Aerowerx

Hello all,
I purchased a Preceptor N-3 Pup, the airframe is in great shape although it hasn't flown in about 6 years. It has a global half VW engine that the previous owner has torn apart and never got back to putting it back together so I purchased the project as airframe with a box of engine. I have built a few full VW engines and I am a GM trained mechanic so I have confidence that I will have no problem putting this engine back together but I have a couple of questions:

1) I have looked over the engine block, cylinders and heads for any hint of whether it is a 30hp or 40hp engine and I cant find any tags or markings on the engine anywhere, how can I tell which engine I have? Measure the bore of the cylinders? Or is there an easier way?

2) Where can I buy parts for this engine? I want to replace the bearings, rings and get gaskets for it.

Thank you for your time!!