Fuel line length - how to locate the last connection/flare?

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

Saville

Ok so I'm a newbie to the rigid fuel line business. So I'm sure everyone knows the answer to this except me:

I'm connecting a fuel selector to an existing line that runs to the engine. The line will have a 90 degree bend under the selector then runs forward and has to precisely meet the existing line.

I've flared one end and made the 90 degree bend under the selector, so now the tricky part (to me) is to mark, cut and flare the other end so that it meets the existing male flare fitting with no stress - neither pushing or pulling. At this point the tubing is overly long.

I can mark where the tip of the male fitting is on the new tube. But that's not where I should cut it.

I could take about 3" or so of some tubing, measure it's length precisely, then flare one end and measure it again. This will tell me how much longer the cut has to be to accomodate the flare. But there's more to it than that, yes?

Any hints as to how to accurately cut the other end so that it meets the fitting exactly would be appreciated.

Thanks

TFF

I usually cut the line about 6” long and get it in and trim and trim until happy. I tend to make the line slightly long in case I have to remake a flair.

Saville

I usually cut the line about 6” long and get it in and trim and trim until happy. I tend to make the line slightly long in case I have to remake a flair.

Pardon my ignorance but I don't see how that could work given that you have to flare the line at the new end:

If you're long by only a little bit, I don't see how you'd have enough to cut the tube, flare the tube and not be too short.

Saville

Put a loop in the line.
I thought about that. But the total run is only about 6"-7" a loop seems like a huge flow modifier for such a short run. Everything I've read says to make the fuel run as bend-free as possible.