Quantcast

Fuel Burn question

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

Streffpilot

Hello, I have no experience with aviation use of 2 strokes......The weight savings peaked my interest for my Minimax.....

I am curious about different fuel burns at cruise (70% power) for different hp......

50 hp
60 hp
70 hp

Or any other hp you might have experience with.

I just dont know what to expect........Thank you ahead of time for your help

Aerowerx

I don't know about 2 strokes, but for 4 strokes the rule of thumb is about 6 gallons per hour for every 100 hp.

So a 40 hp engine would burn 2.4 gallons per hour.

nickjaxe

I have a Rotax 503 50hp duel carb 2 cylinder 2 stroke...in my 50mph draggy a/c at cruise power 5000RPM it burns 10 LPH solo....2 up it burns 15LPH.

Hope thats of some help.

Nick.

radfordc

My Rotax 503 turns 6000 rpm to keep my airplane flying and burns a little less than 4 gal/hr.

radfordc

I have one of the biggest 1/2 vw engine Hummel makes. Its rated at around 45 hp. I burn a little over 1 gallon an Hr.
At full power? That would be .13 lb/hr/hp SFC. Most normally aspirated engines are around .5 lb/hr/hp. I assume you meant 1 gal/hr at low cruise power.

Reactions: BJC

don january

HBA Supporter
Log Member
how can a person even get a number? you have head wind's, grass strip, paved strip. I don't think you can get a true number.

Joe Fisher

I think 1/2 lb/hour /horse power. One gallon / hour is 12 horse power. My Cub with 65 cont. 4 gallons/hour 48hp. 70% of 65 =45.5. My Colt with 108 Lyc. 6 gallons/hour. 70% of 108= 75.6=6.3 gallons/hour. That is what I see in my real world.

Aerowerx

how can a person even get a number? you have head wind's, grass strip, paved strip. I don't think you can get a true number.
With a clock and a fuel gauge. Use X gallons of fuel in Y minutes, at a constant RPM. The fuel usage would be X/Y. All that other stuff is irrelevant until you start talking about airspeed or takeoff roll.

N8053H