Forming Plexiglas / acrylic

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

BJC

HBA Supporter
I need to form a compound curve in small piece of acrylic to make a flush landing light lens in the cowling. The circular lens is about 1/8" thick and 5" in diameter. It will need to have a concave shape about 3/4", but it is not symmetric.

I know the process for heating a sheet in an oven, and stretching it over a form (of vacuuming it into a form), but I have no experience doing it.

Two questions:

Can it be carefully heated with a calibrated heat gun, and free formed over the fiberglass cowl?

If not, what tips do you have for the oven process?

Thanks,

BJC

Last edited by a moderator:

Mcmark

Byron,
I helped a neighbor who was in the acrylic business, build and install the acrylic on the Mercury capsule at Air and Space.
I won't say I know a lot, but what I've seen, a heat gun, makes it very difficult to get the heat even on the acrylic. For a 5" piece I'd give it a shot, but i think I'd try using an oven. You could use a toaster oven for that small a piece. The thing is, they always warm the parts in the vertical plane. Use a frame to support the sheet on at least the top, best to use 4 corners.
He used compressed air to force the shape (blow) but also to cool an area to not allow that part to change any further. I've drape formed some things over a buck, if you will. That might be your best option. Use Pink or Blue foam to get your shape, seal it with epoxy or glass, add a good quality felt over and drape it. Cut to shape, cause you leave it big to handle on the edges.
Just my $.02
Mark

kent Ashton