Flying to Outer Space

Discussion in 'Hangar Flying' started by evantaylorstudios, Apr 14, 2011.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Apr 14, 2011 #1

evantaylorstudios

evantaylorstudios

evantaylorstudios

My name is Evan Taylor, I am a 20-year old artist from Minnesota, in the Midwest United States.

The Experimental Aircraft Association, Mankato Southern Minnesota EAA Chapter 642, invited me to give a presentation about one of my recent photography adventures.

I thought you and your group may find interest in it.

Enjoy! Let me know if you have any questions.

-Evan Taylor

--------------------------------------------
    VIDEO LINK: Outer Space - A Photographer's Journey on Vimeo

NEWSPAPER LINK: Photographer sends camera to the edge of space » Local News » The Free Press, Mankato, MN
    --------------------------------------------

2. Apr 14, 2011 #2

Autodidact

Autodidact

Autodidact

That. Was awesome. Very, very cool. I loved it.

3. Apr 15, 2011 #3
    Congrats for your achievement, it's also amazing the camera returned in one piece from "outer space" ..and you found it (even with GPS tracking)! Pity that the video is not clear enough though.

BTW personally I had thought of this several years ago, but my other priorities were always higher... I wanted to send a DSLR to capture very high res photos of the earth.

I think such a project is worth spending more, especially if you take care to get the camera back. With a high class DSLR like the Canon EOS 5D Mark II you can capture full HD video (of higher quality than a good HD camcorder) and 21 Megapixel photos which you can either sell later to stock photography sites or add them to your portfolio. But I think the value is in high res, high quality still photos.