Flight training help

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

etterre

Help! I'm currently finding myself as the lead character in that all-too-typical story of the form: "Yep, I started training 20/30/40 years ago but then work/family/life/kids/money got in the way. But I'm gonna finish it now that I'm retired."

I'm only 33 and 30+ years of waiting seems a little bit much, so I'm looking for advice about what to do.

More specifics about my story:
I was taking lessons for Sport Pilot at H49 with Andy Mueller, but that isn't currently possible. The bulk of that story can be found here: www.flystl.com My last flight was back in October 2006 and I've got 17 hours in the Luscombe so if everything goes my way (Andy re-forms the business this fall and gets another Luscombe), I could finish up a sport pilot certificate with another 15 hours. But that hangs my hopes on a lot of maybes and I certainly wouldn't finish before winter sets in. Unfortunately, the wife is also getting a little annoyed about:
1. the $$$ spent
2. the time spent
3. and how little I have to show for it

Things I've thought about:
I could finish my Sport Pilot ticket at St. Charles flying service. The hardest bit is that I live in South St. Louis City - so travel one way is an hour drive in good traffic, which means lessons only on weekends. Lessons on weekends = learn slow and catch flak for delays on household projects. The other hard bit is that renting their Evektor is twice as expensive as Andy's Luscombe.