Fixing Heavy wing

Discussion in 'Aircraft Design / Aerodynamics / New Technology' started by BD6, Aug 9, 2019.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Aug 9, 2019 #1

BD6

BD6

BD6

Hello all,

I have been building a BD-6 for the last 5 years and finally it has flown. It is the first customer built plane flying. The BD-6 is a single place BD-4 designed by Jim Bede. in test flying we have found that it drops the left wing a lot! It took two hands to hold it level. We have added a trim tab to the aileron, rigged the left flap down and are now trying to put trim on the wing tip.
    I am looking for ideas to try to lift the wing, short of changing the AOA of the wing.

Could use some help

Tony
    Second BD-6 flying

2. Aug 9, 2019 #2

BD6

BD6

BD6

Here is a picture of the plane

Attached Files:

Turd Ferguson likes this.
  3. Aug 9, 2019 #3

BJC

BJC

BJC

Have you accurately measured the twist (or lack of) in each wing as well as the angle of incidence of each wing? If you used a digital level, what is the accuracy of measurement?

BJC

4. Aug 9, 2019 #4

BD6

BD6

BD6

There is no twist in the wing. it is a strait Hershey bar. the incidence is 3 degrees and the same on both sides by digital level. There is no dihedral.

5. Aug 9, 2019 #5

BD6

BD6

BD6

There is no twist in the wing. it is a strait Hershey bar. the incidence is 3 degrees and the same on both sides by digital level. There is no dihedral.

6. Aug 9, 2019 #6

BD6

BD6

BD6

Tony

7. Aug 9, 2019 #7

Doggzilla

Doggzilla

Doggzilla

It could be many things.

Does it change when you pull power back and try to glide? That will tell us if its strictly aerodynamic or from the propwash interacting with some surface.

The rotation of propwash can cause torque if it lines up with any aerodynamic surface. This can be the wings, the tail, or even the windshield.