Falconar SAL Mustang

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

Hi, new to the forums and looking for information from some of you fine folks. Has anyone build or in the process of building a Falconar SAL Mustang? I am considering purchasing the plans from Manna Aviation but I have never built a plane before so this is all very new to me. I do have some practical skills being a qualified house builder so some things may transfer over, also I am lucky enough to have neighbour who is a racing boat builder so hoping he can help me out with the fibreglass requirements. I have a currently work as a commercial pilot with around 5000 hours but I have never flown a tail dragger. My questions are many but the main one's are; how hard is this aircraft to build from scratch? (I know that is like asking how long a piece of string is but some insight would be nice) and how hard is a SAL Mustang to fly? I would love to just purchase a kit for a t-51 but the upfront cost is out of my price range at the moment so this seems like a viable alternative. Am I dreaming? Any help or guidance would be much appreciated.

Riggerrob

Chris Falconar developed the SAL Mustang from Marcel Jurca's designs. Several Falconar P-51 replicas have been built and flown, mostly with Ranger, 200 horsepower, inverted, in-line engines.

Tiger Tim

It’s all doable as it’s been done before. Some airplanes are harder to build than others and some people have a harder time doing it than others.

About the tailwheel time, get a share in a Champ and fly it a bunch until you’re comfortable, then get a share in something more challenging. Keep moving up that ladder concurrently with your Mustang build. You definitely don’t want to finish the Mustang and suddenly find you have more airplane than you can handle as that will either be disappointing that you can’t fly it or you go for it anyways and someone gets hurt.