Quantcast

experimental help

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

TomcatDave

hey guys.
obviously im new here with my second post so I will throw some background info out there if your interested.
I have always dreamed of flying since I was a kid and was never able to being that I grew up poor as hell and unable to go to college.
I joined the military at the age of 19 after watching top gun a few times (now i hate that movie)
I am an ex- navy airframer. worked on tomcats and superhornets.
only flight experience I got from the military was about 20 hours of simulator messing around with the officers
and I got a back seat ride in a tomcat shot off the catapult on the USS Enterprise...Needless to say a 10g pull from the Pilot screwing around with me made me go to sleep. HAHA!

The reason I have joined the forum is to get pointers and ideas from builders and pilots alike,.
Currently I am a student pilot and have only had a few hours with a cfi and never flown solo.
I plan on getting my private license as soon as time allows due to work taking my life away.

My goals are to get my PL and start building a plane.
But I need some project Ideas.

Generally speaking dollar signs matter the most to any build.
But lets face it. I am on a budget. Arent we all???:gig:
I am looking to get into a completed build for around $40k

I am not worried on the amount of hours a certain build or kit takes. I am a perfectionist at airframes and love the art that is behind it.
I also have about 9 months of power plant experience working on GE110's and other vehicle engines over a lifetime that I know my way around most motors.

I have concerns towards finding a dependable aircraft that will allow me to do the things i want it to do.

I am in search of the following
stall speed 70 mph or less
withstand 7 g's positive and negative
its obvious i want to do some aerobatic stuff eventually so the more g's the better