E-LSA on older aircraft/kits

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

I'm new to this, but the FAA's E-LSA rules make me excited about the learning opportunities.

I have a list of planes I am considering, but I have also been looking into older kits that are being resold.

I am mostly looking at Avid Flyer Clones, and I have noticed a couple older kits that are not explicitly listed as E-LSA kits for sale. Namely old Kitfoxes.

For example, the Kitfox 1/2/3 are well under the E-LSA limits, but was sold before the rules were passed. As I understand it, if the plane was finished is certified as E-AB (experimental-amateur built, just in case my abbreviation is wrong) , then although it can fly under LSA rules, it cannot be maintained under E-LSA rules (if this is incorrect, please tell me). My questions is, if I find an unfinished kit and finish it, can I get an E-LSA airworthiness cert, or am I limited to an E-AB?

Joe Fisher

To Fly as LSA it only has to meet the LSA rules.( Max gross weight 1340 lbs or less ect.) As E-AB it would be maintained as E-AB. The E-LSA is only for E-LSA kits they do not have to meet the 51% rule like E-AB. It appears to me that E-LSA kits are usually trikes that that have majure parts could not be built by an amateur.

BBerson

HBA Supporter
This is confusing but here goes: The old Avid or Kitfox kits can only be certificated as EA-B. (no problem, they still qualify for operation as LSA)
The term E-LSA applied to those two place ultralights Certificated before the 2010 deadline or so, so disregard.
The term E-LSA also applies to a kit that has passed SLSA cerfication first. RV -12 is the only one in this category, I think.