Dual in a GT500

Discussion in 'Rules and Regulations / Flight Safety / Better Pil' started by wanttobuild, Mar 6, 2019.

1. Mar 6, 2019 #1

wanttobuild

wanttobuild

wanttobuild

I need some dual instruction in a gt500 around west kentucky.
    I just bought a Quicksilver GT 400.

mcrae0104 likes this.
  2. Mar 7, 2019 #2

Victor Bravo

Victor Bravo

Victor Bravo

Congratulations Ben, sincere best wishes for many many hours of fun flying!

We have several members here on HBA that have experience in the Quicksilver family of aircraft. I'm sure you will get a lot of good advice based on their experience.

I have no experience with them, but it is my understanding they are very "rudder-dominant" aircraft, meaning you will be using the rudder as much or more than the other primary controls. That's not a bad thing, but it is somewhat different from the production Cessnas and Pipers.

3. Mar 7, 2019 #3

wanttobuild

wanttobuild

wanttobuild

Thanks VB
    You know me well enough that it shouldn't surprise you that I am considering some Junker style Ailerons, executed in Chipper style foam and glass.
    Now if I didn't have to remodel my house this year.....
    Next year I will definitely be ready.

4. Mar 7, 2019 #4

Victor Bravo

Victor Bravo

Victor Bravo

If you just bought a Quicksilver, fly the **** thing as it is. Get some flying hours, have some fun, gain some experience. DO NOT change anything on the GT400 for right now. Just fly the **** thing, and after you get 100 hours on it then you can think about trying to modify something that has been working well for 40 years. Trust me, I know what I am talking about in this one situation.

Junkers ailerons will create NEW and DIFFERENT loads on the structure that it was not designed to handle. For little or no benefit. And the Junkers ailerons by themselves will not "solve" the rudder dominance of that aircraft.