Quantcast

Do people steal glass avionics

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

way_up_noth

Hi guys as I bend and rivet my project questions bubble to the surface

I’m a new pilot in training ...learning the ropes

If you put $3000 in radio / avionics panel

Is it safe at the airport ... is it really not an issue to worry about...I’ve not read any posts about it....

Just wondering

Thanks
Michael

jedi

Sahuarita Arizona, Renton Washington, USA
Talk about dumb questions, can you name anything that someone will not steal? Sorry if that is insensitive or not politically correct!

Answer:

It depends. Some airplanes and airports are more secure than others. That is one reason why hangers are popular. KAWO has had issues for the last several years. The authorities caught a local gang that had been hitting the airport and other businesses and found they had the code for the airport security fence.

Last week I got an email saying that several hangers have had the locks cut but apparently nothing was taken. The local police have increased their patrols.

There is a federal law saying that any theft or tampering with aircraft is federal offense with $10,000 fine and 5 years or similar but the folks doing the damage probably don't read about that.

There is a story about a Lear Jet that took off before the pilots realized that someone had cleaned out the electronics bay and got away with about a million dollars worth of equipment. It sounded like a drug running story to me.

Having said that 99% of the aviation population are really nice people and the equipment is relatively safe even when it is an easy target. But then there was also the drifter that came up from California and liked to borrow gas from the neighbors hangers and airplanes. The indians ended up with his equipment when he was kicked out of the hanger for not paying the rent and he chose to store his stuff on the reservation.