DIY AHRS HUD

Discussion in 'Instruments / Avionics / Electrical System' started by cDuck28Z, Apr 25, 2017.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Apr 25, 2017 #1

cDuck28Z

cDuck28Z

cDuck28Z

Hey guys! I was paging through the forums and had what could be an awesome idea (I'm sure some of you have thought of it already). I'm by no means a aerospace engineer nor a computer scientist, but I was trying to figure out how hard it would be to take a standalone AHRS system like the iLevil 3 Sport, and display it on something like the Epson BT-300. Im sure it would have to be a simplified display, but in theory couldn't we get something like a fighter jet HUD directly in front of your face?!

[​IMG]
    +
    [​IMG]
    =
    [​IMG]

2. Apr 25, 2017 #2

cluttonfred

cluttonfred

cluttonfred

It's an interesting idea but I think it would be pretty disorienting in some circumstances. I'd prefer a fixed and simplified HUD.

3. Apr 25, 2017 #3

gtae07

gtae07

gtae07

Things like that are sort of in the works, to varying extents.

It's already in service at the high end:
    f35-helmet-news__main.jpg
    It not only displays HUD info but also IR sensor feeds and has a night vision camera built in. The image is space-stabilized so wherever you're looking, you see what's "actually there".

Of course, that one's $400k.

There are some people already working on this in the light aircraft segment, using glasses and an AHARS like you suggest. AeroGlass posted some concept shots a couple years ago and they had a demo unit going at Oshkosh last year. I didn't sit through the demo ride because the line was too long but I talked to a couple of their developers. Theirs is more of a high-end type unit but it holds a lot of promise, IMO (more below).

GRT has a system like you suggest, that works with their avionics packages. However, theirs is not space-stabilized so I could see the potential for disorientation. I'm interested to hear from users.