Quantcast

Deburr using drill and 400 grit sandpaper?

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

I am just getting started, and I have some sheet metal of a CH 750 rudder kit that I was preparing. I found that many (if not almost all) holes in the sheet metal had burrs, so I gently used a large drill bit to get rid of the worst of it, and then used 400 grit sandpaper to level the remainder. This process seems to keep me safe from countersinking, but causes some pretty ugly scuffing/scratching on the sheet metal. I guess I would see the same results if I used a smooth file.

First, am I causing any damage to the skin by doing this? I think not, as I have seen others use files. But worth asking.

Second, any thoughts or suggestions on what to do about the scuffing/scratches? Can I buff out the scuffing/scratching before riveting? If so how?

Any advice would be most appreciated. Rather try to understand now before I make mistakes down the line that would be more expensive. Thanks.

Attachments

Victor Bravo

That's pretty much show quality for the Zenith 750. It was designed as a simple and not-fancy rough and tumble machine. The worst thing that could happen is that you'd have to prime and paint the rudder. Very very very few CH STOL airplanes are polished aluminum.

When you start building your own assemblies instead of repairing someone else's, just use sharp, new drill bits. And figure out the correct pressure and speed that gives you the best results.

There are special hole deburring bits sold by Aircraft Spruce. They are sharp little hooks that you swirl around the edge of the hole. Work pretty good.

Another thing you can try if you want to is called a drill-reamer or "dreamer". They are used in aerospace mfg. all the time. The end of the bit is a little smaller drill, and then the next section is a final size reamer... all in one bit. That should create a pretty good hole by itself.

Reactions: TFF