cert or build first?

Discussion in 'General Experimental Aviation Questions' started by ozzmac920, Mar 15, 2016.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Mar 15, 2016 #1

ozzmac920

ozzmac920

ozzmac920

Looking for some advice. So, I'm a prospective pilot and would like to build from a kit. As for getting my PPC, the next step is visiting an AME and start taking flight training. As for starting my build, the next step is filling out the order form.
    I'm lucky enough to live near Torrance CA. So the place I'm going to get my kit from, avionics and flight instruction are all one and the same. TAF for the sling 4 quick build kit, MGL for the avionics and Sling flying club for the instruction.
    Problem is, what to do first??? Do I get my cert first and rent while I build or build first and get trained in my own plane when it's all finished?
    While I'm not in any particular hurry, I would like to fly sooner rather than later. But... GA isn't the cheapest thing I can do with my time, so I expect to shell out some money, but building first would save on rental costs in the long run.
    It's a conundrum, any insight would be helpful.

2. Mar 15, 2016 #2

Victor Bravo

Victor Bravo

Victor Bravo

Definitely start flying now, and build the plane either at the same time or after the training is complete per your budget/finances.

If they're all in one place and under one umbrella, you can definitely negotiate the crap out of them. No reason to pay full retail gringo tourist price when you are buying so much from them.

Tell them that you will agree to do all your flight training and kit purchase and avionics purchase with them, and that you will start training immediately... but after you have completed the flight training and are ready to buy the kit you want the full value of the flight training aircraft rental applied to the aircraft kit purchase.