Quantcast

Carbon Fiber Tube Fuselage

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

TLAR

Are there any folks out there building/designing a fuselage using a Warren Truss type frame?

sming

Sorry, in french but flying ;)
400lbs empty

TLAR

Sming
Thank you for the link!
Incredible design!
Wish it was in English. I need a set of plans!!!!
Can you get plans for the ultralight?

Last edited:

TLAR

Why a Warren Truss vs a single CF mono tube? Weight?
Cheers
Good Question
I guess the short answer would be penetrations thru the main tube.
Aerodynamics, ease of fairing everything.
I am not a designer so just copying an existing, flying aircraft

delta

So, in your area, was there sudden rise is CF golf club thefts!😂 . Just wondering, CF golf clubs are not cheap, not better to source raw cf rods? Cheers
I was using cf arrows to build rc and they were more expensive than some cf golf shafts I found on Ebay., I bought some to experiment with and later was contacted by the guy with I an offer to buy the remaining 1000 he had left. I don't think they fell off the truck, but rather a manufacturer that decided to give up.
This is a representation of the frame I have built but couldn't locate a picture of. It's 160"L 25"W 14.5"H/. The figure in the frame represents a six footer.frame 160 -25-14.5.JPG
Most of the designs I come up with are based on this frame and the 45" length of the shafts.

TLAR

Delta
Are you lashing the Tow or are you cutting and placing?

slociviccoupe

There is a plane hanging in eaa air museum that is carbon tube nonded to anodized aluminum tube clusters. Not sure of anything other than seing it.

dana62448

HBA Supporter
My question is whether carbon tube trusses is another example of “black aluminum “
Is it more efficient to replicate a truss designed for steel. How does this compare to a carbon shell?

Synergy

A few things to say in the interest of safety: