• Welcome aboard HomebuiltAirplanes.com, your destination for connecting with a thriving community of more than 10,000 active members, all passionate about home-built aviation. Dive into our comprehensive repository of knowledge, exchange technical insights, arrange get-togethers, and trade aircrafts/parts with like-minded enthusiasts. Unearth a wide-ranging collection of general and kit plane aviation subjects, enriched with engaging imagery, in-depth technical manuals, and rare archives.

For a nominal fee of $99.99/year or $12.99/month, you can immerse yourself in this dynamic community and unparalleled treasure-trove of aviation knowledge.

Embark on your journey now!

Click Here to Become a Premium Member and Experience Homebuilt Airplanes to the Fullest!

Carb (?) Problem

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kyle Boatright

Supporting Member
I've been battling a problem for 6 months and have exhausted virtually every idea/fix that has been offered, with no resolution.

I have an O-320 D2J with a Marvel Schebler MA-4SPA carb. It ran fine for 19 years, but was beginning to show play in the throttle shaft, so I traded the old carb for a factory reman (identical part number to my old carb's data plate) from Aircraft Spruce. Marvel Schebler (in North Carolina) is the company that ultimately provided the rebuilt carb.

After the carb change, I've had 2 ongoing problems:

1) After years of being able to get a 50 RPM rise as I lean the mixture at idle, I can no longer get much, if any rise with the new carb. I've run the engine with the idle adjustment everywhere in the range (from stopped out on the closed side to about to fall out because it is open so far 4.5-5 turns). The engine idles smoother with the enrichment adjustment way towards the rich side, but there is no noticeable RPM increase available at any idle enrichment setting.