Carb Ice on Corvair Conversions

Discussion in 'Corvair' started by ekimneirbo, Sep 14, 2015.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Sep 14, 2015 #1

ekimneirbo

ekimneirbo

ekimneirbo

Banned

On another thread we have been discussing "carb ice" on certified aero engines. I was wondering if any of the Corvair
    conversions have had carb ice problems?

2. Sep 14, 2015 #2

Bill Clapp

Bill Clapp

Bill Clapp

I have been using the Aerocarb from SOnex for many years and have never had an incident of carb ice in over 2000 hours. I dont use any carb heat source. On my installations we just have a K&N filter on the carb and use cowl air. Since there is no throttle plate or venturi in a slide carb the opportunity for ice to accumulate is very minimal or none. I know of instances of carb ice with MA carbs.

3. Sep 14, 2015 #3

Daleandee

Daleandee

Daleandee

My 3.0 Corvair has a Marvel Schebler carb. In nearly 100 hours of flying I cannot recall any instance of carb ice but I do have carb heat and I use it religiously. I bought the MS carb from a man that removed it from a running Cessna 150. It has been flawless in operation from the first start excepting the fact that I had to reset the idle.

Dale Williams
    N319WF @ 6J2
    Myunn - "daughter of Cleanex"
    120 HP - 3.0 Corvair
    Tail Wheel - Center Stick
    Signature Finish 2200 Paint Job
    98.3 hours / Status - Flying
    KITPLANES Newsline
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC49h6Qijc17_Ebfz0CbRFtg/videos

4. Sep 14, 2015 #4

djschwartz

djschwartz

djschwartz

If your carb or throttle body is mounted directly to the cylinder head as with the original ones in the car you are unlikely to have any icing problems as the carbs are heated by contact with the heads. If you plumb the engine for a remote mounted carb then you should have carb heat available through an air box similar to what aircraft use.

5. Sep 15, 2015 #5

mcrae0104

mcrae0104

mcrae0104