Carb heat needed?

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

cpd

Question for the VW guys, my new (to me) vmax has a 1600cc great planes conversion running a weber downdraft carburetor mounted above the engine. It has 164.8hrs on this setup and lacks any kind of carb heat. Am i asking for trouble or is the radiant heat from the engine sufficient to prevent icing?

Attachments

Pops

Log Member
Yes, I have even had carb ice with the engine quitting in the VW Bug. Just takes one time. For the piece of mind while flying, I would install carb heat and use it as if I was flying a small Cont engine.

Reactions: 103

TFF

Regular Venturi carb needs carb heat. The motorcycle style carbs can get away with not easier.

Victor Bravo

I have zero experience/expertise on VW engines. But the cost and complexity and weight of carb heat (whether electric or exhaust heat-based) is very low compared to the benefit IMHO. The radiant heat from the engine would probably "move the risk zone" for carb ice down to a lower ambient temperature, but it will probably not eliminate the concept or cause of carb ice.

cluttonfred

HBA Supporter
The Ackerman VW conversion plans originally created for the Evans Volksplane VP-1 include a top-mounted carb just like that as well as an integrated carb heat system. I have those plans somewhere but it will take some digging, if anyone has them handy and could post a photo or scan of the carb heat box page that would be great.

EDIT - The schematic below shows the part that I mean. It's just a rectangular tower with the top cut off at an angle (facing forward) and, IIRC, the bottom is extended to form a drip pan to divert any fuel spillage from over-priming away from the engine via a drain tube. Inside the tower is a simple hinged flapper, open to use outside air or closed to pull from the heat muff.

ackerman vw schematic.gif

Last edited:

radfordc