Building an Ultralight with my Son

Discussion in 'The light stuff area' started by Kenwhite23, Apr 22, 2019.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Apr 22, 2019 #1

Kenwhite23

Kenwhite23

Kenwhite23

Hello everyone, im a 27 year old dad from omaha. Ive been dreaming of flight since i was 4 years old.
    I recently decided to take the plunge and Build a Homebuilt Ultralight Aircraft with my Son. Im still in the planning phase but i've narrowed it down to one of the following:

1. Legal Eagle XL
    2. Min Max 1100R
    3. Fisher Avenger

I am far more skilled with Wood then i am with Metal, however if i do decide to go the route of a plane that is a metal assembly, i have a friend who is a welder who has agreed to do the welding for me at no cost.

I do want to leave this open to suggestions in case ive missed a good option that might work better or if someone knows of an Ultralight Bi-Plane that meets my Requirements ;) :

• Able to be built for under 4k
    • Relatively Newbie Builder Design, Ive done Balsa kits my whole life, but this will be my first full scale attempt, and my son will be helping me build it.
    • Able to carry a 260lb pilot. My weight is pretty stable, working on getting back down to 200-220lbs, but would prefer to pick something that i know would carry my fat ass, in the event i have not lost all the weight i want to by the end of the build.
    • Can be built in my basement in parts, and then Carried out through the door as i finish parts to be assembled later.

My background: