Breakers and switches

Discussion in 'Instruments / Avionics / Electrical System' started by pequeajim, Oct 17, 2007.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

  1. Oct 17, 2007 #1

    pequeajim

    pequeajim

    pequeajim

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Holland, PA
    I am getting ready to wire up my panel Some of the people that I talk to are of the opinion that while everything has some kind of breaker on it, anything that is switched on and off could use a breaker-switch and save the breakers only for the stuff that is not switched on or off.

    Here is my electrical requirements:

    Breakers
    MFD1 (3)
    MFD2 (3)
    Radio (5)
    Txp (3)
    Flaps/Trim (5)
    Fuel Pump (5)
    Intercom (2)

    Switches

    Master (Alt/Battery - Dual)
    MFD1
    MFD2
    Avionics
    Nav Lights
    Strobes
    Landing
    Panel lights

    How would you all do this?
     
  2. Oct 18, 2007 #2

    JMillar

    JMillar

    JMillar

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Antigonish, NS, Canada
    Something I read, forget where, recommended that everything with a breaker should be switchable, so you can disable it if necessary (problems that aren't enough to trip the breaker). Just make everything a breaker-switch? Unless there are things where one breaker supplies more than one switch.
     
  3. Jan 4, 2008 #3

    CESSNADON

    CESSNADON

    CESSNADON

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Potter Brumfield makes a line of bat handled breaker switches in a wide range of currents. I would use them for all of the electrical loads. You might also want to consider an avionics bus which is fed from a breaker switch. Makes it easy to shut down the avionics without turning a bunch of on/off knobs. When you are deciding on how you want to distribute your electrical loads, consider the effect of losing two devices fed by a single breaker if one of the devices fail, and what are the current draws of the devices. You wouldn't want to pair up a 15 amp device with a device drawing 1 or 2 amps.
    You can find the above mentioned items at all of the major electronic parts distributors. Allied Electronics, Newark Electronics and others, they all have websites.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2008
  4. Jan 4, 2008 #4

    CaptAlRice

    CaptAlRice

    CaptAlRice

    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    You might want to check out the "AeroElectric Connection" by Bob Nuckolls and the AeroElectric forum on www.forums.Matronics.com. Bob has a chapter in his manual on breakers vs. fuses & switches. There are several wiring diagrams in the "AeroElectric Connection" appendix to choose from for almost any aircraft application. I would recommend installing fuse blocks and standard single and double pole toggle switches instead of breakers or switch breakers because they are simpler, cheaper, lighter, and just as dependable.
     
  5. Jan 4, 2008 #5

    Captain_John

    Captain_John

    Captain_John

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KPYM
    I'm with AL!

    Anything that already has a switch on it, put it on a fuse.

    Check out www.aeroelectric.com and drink the Kool-Aid!

    Bob is a really sharp guy and I think he is right on the money. His "Z" diagrams are great!

    I am using a derivative of Z-13 in my RV. It looks like it will work well for you too!

    Check them out!

    :) CJ
     

Share This Page

arrow_white