Becker AMP6400-2 transponder programming

Discussion in 'Instruments / Avionics / Electrical System' started by PrzemekMac, Nov 7, 2014.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

  1. Nov 7, 2014 #1

    PrzemekMac

    PrzemekMac

    PrzemekMac

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    EPKZ
    Hi. I'm trying to make my own AMP6400-2 Becker address module programmer.
    I'm looking for software for it or maybe any tips, diagrams..
     
  2. Nov 7, 2014 #2

    Matt G.

    Matt G.

    Matt G.

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    468
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    It costs less than $100, so unless your time is completely worthless, you are wasting your time, not to mention that your transponder installation would be totally illegal if you used homemade parts like that in your installation.
     
  3. Nov 7, 2014 #3

    PrzemekMac

    PrzemekMac

    PrzemekMac

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    EPKZ
    100USD + availability in Poland..
    Why illegal? If I use officially assigned ICAO code, it would be ok.
    For example in Garmin you can re-program it using xpdr keypad and don't need special programmer.
     
  4. Nov 7, 2014 #4

    Matt G.

    Matt G.

    Matt G.

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    468
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    In the US, all of the parts of a transponder installation have to be certified. No homemade parts. I can't imagine the EASA regulations in Europe would be any different.

    If you can buy the transponder in Poland, you can buy the address module programmer, too.
     
  5. Nov 14, 2014 #5

    PrzemekMac

    PrzemekMac

    PrzemekMac

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    EPKZ
    I see, but you misunderstood me. I'm looking only for programming cable and software for Becker. I'd like to program factory made address key for Becker so no home made part will participate in flight.
     
  6. Nov 14, 2014 #6

    Matt G.

    Matt G.

    Matt G.

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    468
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    Have you contacted a Becker dealer, or Becker directly?
     
  7. Nov 14, 2014 #7

    PrzemekMac

    PrzemekMac

    PrzemekMac

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    EPKZ
    It's no problem but in Poland it's expensive. You have to buy cable for 100EUR, it's about 400-500zł and I'm sure that this cable is normal TTL converter...
    Strange politic to make "magic address plug". In Garmin GTX for ex. you can re-program xpdr by special sequence of buttons.
     
  8. Nov 15, 2014 #8

    pwood66889

    pwood66889

    pwood66889

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Sopchoppy, Florida, USA
    What is there to "program" in a transponder? Surely you are not trying to change it's signals or behavior? Or are you just setting parameters, like the aircraft type?
    Percy (ex-software type) in SE Bama, USA
     
  9. Nov 16, 2014 #9

    PrzemekMac

    PrzemekMac

    PrzemekMac

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    EPKZ
    pwood66889: In mode-s transponder you have to set (program) transponder ICAO code assigned to aeroplane, type of aeroplane, speed range, weight and several items.
    If you'll buy used mode-s and install in your aeroplane ATC will see you with wrong callsign.
    In for eg. garmin you can just set it in service menu for free. In becker you need special cable and software (why? ) .
     
  10. Nov 17, 2014 #10

    pwood66889

    pwood66889

    pwood66889

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Sopchoppy, Florida, USA
    So you are just changing internal settings, not behavior. I'm just an old code cutter and curious.
    The special cable is probably a lock-in, so you'll keep paying Becker. And provide work for the instrument shops when one installs a used mode-S transponder!
    About the only thing I can come up with, Mac, is to see if the plug to the Becker can be sourced any where in Eastern Europe, and get the pin-outs off the `Net. And the communication protocols and so on. Really sad you can't get it COTS. Wish you lots of luck
    Percy in SE Bama, USA
     
  11. Feb 11, 2015 #11

    Jaysmiths

    Jaysmiths

    Jaysmiths

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Hurst, TX
    Is this kind of thing something the local avionics shop could do? I'm considering purchasing a used Becker BXP6403-1 xpndr and I'd need this done as well.

    Also, might I correctly assume that any altitude encoder will work with this? Searching for info on this Becker has proven futile so far.

    Old thread, I realize but I'm facing the same issue.
     
  12. Feb 12, 2015 #12

    pwood66889

    pwood66889

    pwood66889

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Sopchoppy, Florida, USA
    "Is this kind of thing something the local avionics shop could do?"
    I suspect not, Jay. They are probably just board swappers, with maybe a little light souldering on the side. When it comes to bit shuffling, you'll need a lot of stuff that Becker has in their back pocket.
    Starting with that cable and the pin definitions. Please do tell us what you find. "Curious Minds," and all that.
    Percy in SE Bama
     
  13. Feb 13, 2015 #13

    Jaysmiths

    Jaysmiths

    Jaysmiths

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Hurst, TX
    Ok, Percy, since you asked....

    This is what I've managed to learn:

    A kit from Becker is needed to program the address module on theBXP6403-1-(01) I just bought. There is a Becker dealer in Dallas nearby who quoted it as $233.35, comes with instructions, software on a disk and a USB cord. The upside to this is that the Mode S unit itself can be moved from one airplane to another with only the purchase of another address module (less than $100) that is specific to each airplane and remains in the airplane.

    My O-470 powered BD-4 will be up and inspected soon so I then will get to start building my next one so the $$ saved on not buying another xpndr can go for other goodies, or so I will try to convince my better half.
     
  14. Feb 15, 2015 #14

    pwood66889

    pwood66889

    pwood66889

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Sopchoppy, Florida, USA
    Hah! Now I know where to go if I need a Becker transponder reset for my plane!
    Thanx = Percy
     

Share This Page



arrow_white